Self Reported Food Allergies

FARE reported on a FDA study showing that there’s a growing rate of Self-Reported Food Allergies among adults over the years 2001, 2006, and 2010…

Here are my thoughts, as a patient.

Allergy testing is expensive and not comprehensive. Just this year, I paid about $700 for a 90 food item scratch test, which gives me a bunch of things I know I *might* be allergic to (after all, SPT’s are have as much as 50% rate of false positives), but there’s hundreds of other common food items that aren’t tested, so I still end up needing to do extensive elimination diet testing. Meanwhile, some items I tested negative for still give me OAS-type symptoms, which, in my experience, significantly weaken my immune system to the point where I become prone to frequent colds and infections. So after going through a lot of money in testing, I still need to self-test and self-diagnose well beyond my allergists findings. The doctor-led testing only gives me a starting point, which I’ll say was worth it.

While there is a large problem in people are self-diagnosing themselves with allergies they don’t have (gluten/wheat seems to be a popular one), each person NEEDS to be responsible for their own knowledge of the condition and responses of their body – especially in the food they eat.

Leave a Reply

